2010 Young Entrepreneur of the Year, Maryland SBA

SBA names Maryland award winners

Baltimore Business Journal – by Kevin Crowley, Staff

Date: Thursday, March 11, 2010, 1:33pm EST

The U.S. Small Business Administration has picked Lily Bengfort, president of CenGen in Columbia, as Maryland’s small businessperson of the year.

The organization will honor the winners of the 2010 Maryland Small Business Week Awards Program at a May 21 breakfast at Martin’s West in Woodlawn.

The awards recognize outstanding small business owners and those who support them.

The other winners include:

• Jeffrey Nolte, Chesapeake Telephone Systems of Millersville — Jeffrey Butland family-owned small business of the year

• Reverdy Orrell III, Reb’s Web Design & Computer Tech Support LLC in Baltimore — home-based business champion of the year award

• Richard J. Morgan, CommerceFirst Bank in Annapolis — community/rural lender of the year

• Harry Santucci, CBO Financial Inc. in Columbia — accountant advocate of the year

• Gloria Berthold Larkin, TargetGov of Elkridge — women in business champion of the year

• Russell Teter, Md. Small Business Development Center in Bel Air — minority small business champion of the year

• Rod Morrison, New Windsor State Bank in New Windsor — financial services champion of the year

• Sue Chambers, the Strouse Corp. in Westminster — entrepreneurial success of the year

• J. Howard Kucher, Entrepreneurial Opportunity Center at the University of Baltimore — district director’s unsung hero

• Brian Gill, Gill Grilling Co. in Annapolis — young entrepreneur of the year

Gill, who first won the award in 2004 for the SBA’s Washington, D.C. area, said he is “thrilled” to have won this year.

To win again is a sign of continued success and a particular source of pride for the company, said Gill, the company’s owner and founder.

Nolte, of Chesapeake Telephone, said in an interview Thursday it means a lot for the company to win the award in its 25th year of business and during a poor economy.

Author avatar